The Guilt of Being a Working Mom

I wake up in the morning to two of the most beautiful faces I have ever seen and I am greeted with tired eyes and sleepy smiles and I think to myself how lucky I am to have such amazing children.  We get our breakfast and get dressed for the day and then I am plagued with enormous guilt that this will be the only time that I get to see my boys for the day because I will be headed off to work while they stay at home with their daddy.  My job is unfortunately not a 9-5 and the majority of my shifts really cut into my time with the boys.  A lot of the time I only see my boys for a few hours a day because of the hours I am scheduled and I feel lucky if I make it home before their bed time so that I can give them a bath and put them to bed.

I want to be able to provide what I can for my children and when I initially went back to work it was to give my poor brain a rest from constant baby talk and sesame street.  Now, I long for the days when the three of us would watch tv in my room and just spend time together, or the days where we went for a walk to the park, or reading time.  I just feel like I am missing out on a lot of big moments with them and it hurts my heart.  

Is this a common problem among working mothers?  If so, what do you do to maximize your time at home with your children?  What sorts of activities do you do? 

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

